Domestic Violence

Illinois Crime Victim Compensation Program

The Crime Victim Compensation Act was established by the Illinois General Assembly in 1973 with the primary goal of helping to reduce the financial burden imposed on victims of violent crime and their families. The Illinois Crime Victim Compensation Program can provide innocent victims and their families with up to $27,000 in financial assistance for expenses accrued as a result of a violent crime.

 

What are considered violent crimes?
  • Murder (1st and 2nd degree).
  • Involuntary Manslaughter.
  • Reckless Homicide.
  • Kidnapping and Aggravated
  • Kidnapping.
  • Battery and Aggravated Battery.
  • Assault and Aggravated Assault.
  • Violation of an Order of
    Protection.
  • Heinous Battery.
  • Sexual Relations with Families.
  • Criminal Sexual Assault.
  • Aggravated Criminal Sexual
    Assault.
  • Criminal Sexual Abuse.
  • Aggravated Criminal Sexual Abuse.
  • Exploitation of a Child.
  • Stalking.
  • Aggravated Stalking.
  • Domestic Battery.
  • Aggravated Domestic Battery.
  • Reckless Conduct.
  • Driving Under the Influence.
  • Arson.

Who is a crime victim?

  • A person injured in Illinois as a result of a violent crime.
  • A survivor of a victim who was dependent on the victim for support.
  • A parent whose child is the
    victim of a violent crime.
    A relative of a victim who
    incurred funeral and/or medical expenses.
  • A person under 18 who is the sibling or child of a person killed or injured, or a person who witnessed a violent crime (counseling expenses only).

 

What expenses can be covered?

  • Medical and hospital expenses including prescriptions, doctor visits and dental work.
  • Funeral and burial up to $5,000.
  • Counseling by licensed or certified professionals.
  • Loss of earnings up to $1,000 per month. This is based on your net earnings for the six months prior to the incident. You will be required to show proof of your earnings and injury (like a letter from your doctor and/or counselor). Loss of earnings includes days missed from work to attend court hearings and for doctor and counseling appointments.
  • Prosthetic devices.
  • Wheelchairs and some accessibility expenses (like ramps, hand rails, etc.).
  • Eye glasses and hearing aids.
  • Crime scene cleanup.
  • Replacement costs for clothing/bedding used as evidence (save your receipts).
  • Replacement costs for locks/windows damaged during the crime (save your receipts).
  • Temporary lodging and relocation costs including moving van rental, moving company fees, storage fees, shipping fees and security deposits.
  • Travel and transport for survivors and transport of the deceased victim.

How much compensation does the law provide?
Total compensation may not exceed $27,000 per incident/per victim. No compensation is available for lost or damaged property (except as listed) or for pain and suffering. In certain instances, applicants may be eligible for an emergency award of up to $2,000 for covered expenses.


Eligibility Information:
Applicants for Crime Victim Compensation must first exhaust other reasonable remedies including health insurance, Medicare, Workers Compensation, etc. Applications must be filed within two years from the date of the crime.

 

For more information, contact:
Illinois Attorney General
Crime Victims Compensation Bureau
100 W. Randolph Street, 13th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601
800-228-3368


News

Illinois State Crime Commission presents State’s Attorney Glasgow with distinguished Career Achievement Award during annual dinner

Mother of Chicago Bulls’ Dwyane Wade to drive home deadly dangers of using heroin during Wilmington forum scheduled for March 2

Video

Cache, a 2-year-old black Labrador working in Will County, is the only high-tech police dog in the Chicago area. (WLS)